Professor: Deleting a Previously Created Question (New Top Hat)

Should you wish to delete a question that you’ve previously created, there are a couple of different ways in which you can go about this.

The first is to click on the title of the question you’d like to delete to access it in your preview window. Once displayed, click where it says Delete in the upper right hand corner, and confirm the deletion in the pop-up dialogue box to complete the deletion of that question.

Alternatively, you can click in the white box to the left of the question icon in the dashboard to place a checkmark and select the item. This action will cause the grey Delete button to appear towards the top of your page, and upon clicking it you will be asked to confirm the deletion in the pop-up dialogue box to complete the deletion of that question. This method is especially useful if you want to delete multiple items simultaneously.

It’s important to note that deleting content from your dashboard will remove it from your course entirely, meaning that it will also be deleted from your Top Hat gradebook along with any associated student grades. As a result, questions should only be deleted if there is no important response data associated with it. Should you simply want to zero the question out so that there are no grades associated with it, but you are still able to view a record of student responses to the question I encourage you to see the following article: Professor: Zeroing Out Grades for Questions and Discussions in the Gradebook (New Top Hat)

Support
Should you require further assistance with Top Hat, our Support Team is here to help! You can contact us directly by way of email (support@tophat.com), the in app support button, the red Can’t find what you are looking for? Ask Support! banner at the bottom of this page, or calling us at 1-888-663-5491.

Comments